The Honorable Woman

Cast Members

Janet McteerPlays Dame Julia Walsh


Janet McTeer is one of the UK's most celebrated and respected actresses. She is a Tony Award, Olivier Award and Drama Desk Award winner. She is also a two-time Academy Award nominee. Amongst her many notable theatre roles, Janet was nominated for the Olivier Award for "Best Newcomer" for The Grace of Mary Traverse. In 1997 she won an Olivier Award, a Tony Award, a Critics Circle Theatre Award, a Theatre World Award and a Drama Desk Award for her role as Nora in Ibsen's A Doll's House. Other theatre roles include Yelena in Uncle Vanya (National Theatre), Veronique in God of Carnage (West End & Broadway) and the title role in Mary Stuart (Donmar Warehouse & Broadway), which won her the 2009 Drama Desk Award for "Best Actress" as well as a Tony Award nomination.

On television, she starred in the title role of Lynda La Plante's The Governor, received an Emmy & Golden Globe nomination for Into the Storm and a Golden Globe nomination for The White Queen. She also appeared opposite Glenn Close in the final season of the hit US drama series Damages. Her film roles include Wuthering Heights, Carrington, As You Like It, Songcatcher and The Woman in Black. She was nominated for an Academy Award for Tumbleweeds (Best Actress) as well as winning the Golden Globe for "Best Actress" and received her second Academy Award nomination for Albert Nobbs ("Best Supporting Actress") as well as another Golden Globe nomination. Most recently, Janet Mcteer appeared in SundanceTV's THE HONORABLE WOMAN, an eight-part politcal thriller, directed by Hugo Blick. For her role in the series, the Broadcast Television Journalists Association (BTJA) has nominated her for a Critics’ Choice Television Award.

More on Janet McTeer