Cast Members

Lorne Michaels


Lorne Michaels is the creator and executive producer of NBC's "Saturday Night Live," the longest-running and highest-rated weekly, late-night television program in history.

Over the last 30 years, "SNL" has won numerous Emmy Awards and was honored with the prestigious George Foster Peabody Award and cited as "truly a national institution." Most recently, Michaels and the show were honored with a 2002 Emmy for Best Writing in a Variety/Comedy Series. Michaels has personally won ten Emmys as a writer and producer in television, one of those being for "The Paul Simon Special" in 1977.

Michaels' film credits include THREE AMIGOS, WAYNE'S WORLD, TOMMY BOY, and the World War II drama ENGIMA, which he produced with Mick Jagger. Most recently, he produced the hit comedy MEAN GIRLS, starring Lindsay Lohan and Rachel McAdams.

In addition to his weekly duties on "SNL," Michaels is executive producer of NBC's "Late Night with Conan O'Brien," and the new NBC comedy "30 Rock".

Michaels' past television credits also include the series "The Kids in the Hall" and "Night Music," as well as specials with Steve Martin, The Rutles, Flip Wilson, The Rolling Stones, the Beach Boys, Randy Newman, Neil Young, Simon and Garfunkel in Central Park, and Lily Tomlin which he won 2 Emmy's for.

On Broadway, Michaels produced and directed Gilda Radner Live from New York and produced the subsequent motion picture GILDA LIVE.
Michaels began his career in Toronto, where he attended the University of Toronto and worked as a writer and producer for the Canadian Broadcasting Company and starred in the comedy series "The Hart & Lorne Terrific Hour." In 1968, he moved to Los Angeles and worked as a writer for NBC's "Rowan and Martin's Laugh-In" and other television series until he left in 1975 to begin "SNL" in New York. In 1979, Michaels founded the New York-based production company, Broadway Video Inc.

1975: Lorne Michaels creates Saturday Night Live for NBC and history is made.
1979: Michaels forms the production company, Broadway Video Inc.
1999: Michaels is inducted into the Television Academy Hall of Fame.
2004: Lorne Michaels receives the prestigious Mark Twain Prize for American Humor by the John F. Kennedy Center of the Performing Arts.