And The Winners Are…

Hey Ya’ll!

It’s been raining a bit down here in TX, but that hasn’t put a damper on us gathering interviews with hot indie filmmakers and interactive people this week. We’re getting those together now and will have up on the site soon. In the meantime, below is the list of winners from last night’s SXSW Film Awards ceremony. Women dominated the awards with Jamie Babbit’s film “Itty Bitty Titty Committe” winning for best narrative feature and Jennifer Venditti winning best documentary feature for her film, “Billy the Kid”. The music portion of SXSW started today, with hundreds of bands arriving in town – the venues on 6th Street will be crowded tonight. Our parties at SXSW with our friends at Filter Magazine start tomorrow, so look for out for our daily music updates. Now we’re off to eat some Texas BBQ.

Narrative Feature:
“Itty Bitty Titty Committee,” Director: Jamie Babbit
Special Jury Award – “Orphans,” Director: Ry Russo-Young
Special Jury Award – Frownland,” Director: Ronald Bronstein

Documentary Feature:
“Billy the Kid,” Director: Jennifer Venditti
Special Jury Award – “Audience of One,” Director: Michael Jacobs
Special Jury Award – “Cat Dancers,” Director: Harris Fishman

Texas High School Competition:
“Murder for 9 Points,” Director: Brandon Day
Special Jury Award – Daily Routine, Director: Adela Escobar

Music Videos:
Thom Yorke, ‘Harrowdown Hill’, Director: Chel White
Special Jury Award – Constantines, ‘Working Full-TIme’, Director: Drew Lightfoot

Experimental Shorts:
“27,000 Days,” Director: Naveen Singh
Special Jury Award – “The Lonely Lights. The Color of Lemons,” Director: Benjamin M. Piety

Animated Shorts:
“Tragic Story with a Happy Ending,” Director: Regina Pessoa
Special Jury Award – “One Rat Short,” Director: Alex Weil

REEL Shorts:
“Pop Foul,” Director: Moon Molson
Special Jury Award – “Clear Cut, Simple,” Director: Vineet Dewan


Narrative Feature:
“Skills Like This,” Director: Monty Miranda

Documentary Feature:
“Run Granny Run,” Director: Marlo Poras

Emerging Visions:
“The Price of Sugar,” Director: Bill Haney